Our Governors

Governing Body
As a governing body we have statutory responsibilities for the school. Our main roles are:

  • Provide strategic leadership to the work and improvement of the school.
  • Support and evaluate the effectiveness of the school.
  • Ensure as a critical friend that progress in the standards achieved and the quality of education are maintained.
Ours is not an operational role: that function is the responsibility of the Headteacher and her staff. Our job includes providing the appropriate amounts of support and challenge to ensure that the school provides the best quality of education for the children. The appointing body for our Governors is Cornwall Council. The terms of office for each Governor is listed below their picture.


Monitoring is essential if the governing body is to ensure the school is moving in the right direction. We carry out monitoring visits across the classes and subjects at St Mary's every term. The feedback is invaluable to helping the Governing Body make decisions.

If you have any concerns or queries for any of St Mary's Governors, you can contact them through the school office.
Who's Who

Mr William Robinson

Chair of Governors

01.04.15 - 31.03.19

Mrs Nicola Bray


09.05.16 - 08.05.20

Mrs Mary Ann Trethewey

Local Authority Governor

10.11.16 - 09.11.20

Rev Christopher Parsons

Foundation Governor

(Ex-Officio Foundation Governor) 05.02.09 onwards

Mr Alexander Marples

Parent Governor

20.11.16 - 19.11.20

Mrs Lisa Smith-Walker

Parent Governor

Vice Chair, 05.10.16 - 04.10.20

Mrs Alison Laity

Staff Governor

04.09.17 - 03.09.21

Mrs Louise Stevenson

Co-Opted Governor

Deputy Head Teacher, 28.09.16 - 27.09.20